Funto Ibuoye- The Beautified Woman

It’s Wednesday again and another day to celebrate a woman walking in the center of God’s plan for her life, achieving great feats through the effective use of her talents, gaining worldwide recognition through her contribution to societal development and becoming a Prima Donna. Today’s WWW is the beautiful, inspiring and amazing Funto Ibuoye. Enjoy this read!

Funto Ibuoye

Funto Ibuoye

May we meet you?

My name is Funto Ibuoye. Presently, I work as a brand management professional and I run a for-purpose initiative for young women called- The Beautified Network. I am the first of 5 children and I have lived in Lagos all my life.

You run an outfit for women. What inspired your interest?

I see a lot of young women who are just living life passively with no sense of purpose and it just makes my heart ache. There is so much more to life than just going to school, getting married and having children. That’s why I founded The Beautified Network, a for-purpose and faith-based initiative for young women aimed at inspiring and empowering women to discover and live up to their full potentials.


“Beautified” Can you tell us how you came up with that name?

Beautified started as a title for a daily broadcast message I used to send to my BBM contacts way back in 2011. I wanted to send beauty tips that focused on both inner and outer beauty and I remember looking through the dictionary and I found the word beautify which means to make beautiful, then it occurred to me that God has already created us beautiful, hence we were already beautified. We don’t need anything else to make us beautiful.

How does a young woman like you turn out to be so knowledgeable with two books to your name?

Hmmn… I’m not sure I know the answer to that, but I think it stems from spending time with God and His Word. The Bible says that the fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom, so if I’m wise and knowledgeable it is majorly because I fear God and I love Him, and of course reading books that help me grow as well.

 

You released your second book, “The 31 woman” recently. What is it about?

The 31 Woman is a devotional for women; I have always had this idea to do a devotional since my days at the university and I actually started back then, but somehow my laptop crashed and I lost all my files. This demotivated me, until in my final year when someone else did a devotional with the same idea I had in mind; I was shocked. This experience helped me to realize that God does not waste time; if He puts something in your heart to do and you don’t do it at the time He wants, he’d find someone else. Anyway, the idea never left my heart; it kept coming back so this year, I put it as one of my goals for 2015 and I started writing. Writing a devotional for women came naturally because it’s what I am passionate about; I love to see women excel in all areas of life, so the devotional is mostly about some of my experiences in different aspects of my life and some of what I have learnt from my relationship with God and studying His Word.

 

 

Funto's second book- The 31 woman

        Funto’s second book- The 31 woman

Can you tell us of the women you admire and why?

I have a long list of women that I admire for different reasons, I’d mention a few-

Michelle Obama– I aspire to be as stylish and gracious as she is.

Rev. Funke Felix-Adejumo– I covet the anointing and grace on her life, she’s someone who’s walking right in the center of God’s will in all aspect of her life- marriage, family, ministry and that’s all I want- to be right at the center of God’s will for my life.

Jumoke Adenowo– she’s a woman of excellence and power. You can see excellence in all her work as an award winning architect and the power she exudes when she preaches is proof that she indeed is a woman of the Word.

You have a huge influence on social media. How did that come about? And how are you able to cope with all of the attention, messages and all?

I decided to use my social media pages to inspire people instead of just posting pictures of how pretty I look or how perfect my life is. I realize that people are inspired not because I’m perfect or have a perfect life, but because of how I deal with my imperfections. As per attention, I see it as what it is- fleeting. At the end of the day, it’s not about how many people follow me (who am I sef, laughs) it’s about how many people follow Jesus. So if the attention is on me, it’s because I’m a city set on a hill that cannot be hidden. As per responding to messages, I’m not sure I’m coping well yet, but I’m trying my best learning how to juggle my real life with responding to messages from people online.

Funto's first book- Beautified

Funto’s first book- Beautified

 

You recently organized a conference for young ladies. Now to those of us who followed through, it was huge! Tells us about organizing the conference, getting a team, choosing speakers” and pulling resources for the program.

Thank you for the compliment! God deserves all the glory, after all He’s a HUGE God! The idea for the conference came one morning in February while my husband and I were taking our usual Morning Prayer walk- the name “Becoming” just popped in my mind and I imagined a conference for young women. I remember getting back to the house that morning and telling my husband about the idea and writing it down. I also checked my calendar and July 18 popped, so that same day I called “TerraKulture” and made a reservation. I also wrote down a list of people to work with and called them that same day and they agreed to be a part of it. I did not waste time at all with planning the conference because of my previous experience with the devotional; I knew if I did not do this, God will definitely send someone else.

For the speakers, I thought of women who are ‘real’, who have already ‘become’ and were excelling in all areas of their life- family, career, ministry, marriage etc. They were also people I knew to some extent; I’ve watched them through the years. I knew the event had to be EXCELLENT. I could not imagine doing a “Christian” event and it will be anything but excellent; so I kept telling the team that we had to give our very best and I’m so thankful for everyone who was a part of the team, couldn’t have asked for a better team. As per getting resources, God came through; I had to use ALL of my personal funds and my husband was also very supportive. God also sent some people I did not even know to make donations and contributions both in cash and kind. I absolutely cannot wait for Becoming 2016!

Funto at Becoming

                     Funto at Becoming

Funto, what do you think deters women from living up to their potentials?

One word- fear; a lot if women are not living up to their full potentials because they are afraid to make the move and just do it. There are several limiting beliefs that people generally, not just women have that keeps them from living up to their full potentials.

You come across as a Jesus-girl. Can you tell us a little of your love relationship with Jesus?

Yes, I am an unashamed, totally-in-love with Jesus girl! All that I am is because of Him; I honestly don’t want to imagine my life without Him. Our love relationship is perfect! Not because I am perfect, but because He is, so He covers up for my many imperfections. A thousand and one times I have failed Him, but still His grace abounds. I know He loves me much more than I can say and I’m looking forward to seeing Him face to face; like the song says-“I can only imagine what my eyes will see when Your face is before me…” and He’s coming pretty soon!

Getting personal, some of us (undercover agents) know the story of your relationship your husband, Gaisebaba, but for those that don’t know, can you tell us a little of your relationship with your husband?

Hmmn, not trying to sound spiritual but the truth is my relationship with my husband is growing daily to be something like Jesus’ relationship with His bride- the church. In so many ways, marriage has brought to fore all the things I never knew I had in me… all the pride and stubbornness. On the outside, I probably look like I can never hurt a fly but my husband knows better. He truly has been helping me become a better person in all areas of my life and I am forever grateful for the gift of having to go through life with him.

Gaise-Funto-Wedding-November-2014-BellaNaija-017.FuntoGaise-18

Funto & Akinade Ibuoye Photo Credit: Bella Naija

 

How did you know he was the one? Did you hear the “deep-baritone audible voice” or was it the “still small voice”? Please tell us!

(Laughs) I actually did not hear anything but I knew that he was the one because he had everything I needed in my man and so much more. Notice that I said NEEDED not WANTED. The most important thing for me was that he is truly a man after God’s heart and not just a church boy. I saw his heart for God and I just knew that if a man can follow God like this, then everything else will fall into place. Matter of fact, he was the one who found scriptures that showed him that I was the one.

 

What should a young Christian lady really look out for in her choice of a life-partner?

I’d say the number one thing to look out for is whether he has a heart after God; once a man truly is after God, then believe me, nothing else matters because he will want to daily please God and be more like Jesus. And as a true Christian lady, you’d be able to discern a man who is really after God and someone who just goes to church; if not, then you need to up your spiritual game. I remember I was almost victim to a guy before I met my husband, he was even a youth pastor at the time but I just did not have this peace in my spirit. Then he did something very silly that just made me know that he was not the one.

Beautified!

Beautified!

Your advice to ladies still yet to get a grip on what God created them for?

  1. Get in the Word. Everything you need to know about your life and purpose is right in the Word.
  2. Surround yourself with friends and people who are also passionate about God and fulfilling purpose.

And finally, what’s your advice to young ladies on their journey to becoming Prima Donnaz?

Love yourself. Be yourself. Don’t be afraid to step out be ALL you were created to be.

Thank you Funto, for pouring your heart out to us, we are inspired!

You are welcome.

 

6 thoughts on “Funto Ibuoye- The Beautified Woman

  1. Titilayo Shittu says:

    Mrs Funto is such an awe-inspiring woman. Fear is really a limiting factor that must be chased out of our lives. I have some goals i must achieve as well and I will surely say this has inspired me to drive without pressing the brake.

    Like

  2. Titilayo Shittu says:

    Mrs Funto is such an awe-inspiring woman. Fear is really a limiting factor that must be chased out of our lives. I have some goals i must achieve as well and I will surely say this has inspired me to drive without pressing the brake. God will continually enrich you with His grace.

    Like

Leave a Reply

