Like “Billy Widdledon”

envy2

Ever since I was a little kid, I didn’t want to be me. I wanted to be like Billy Widdledon, and Billy Widdledon didn’t even like me. I walked like he walked; I talked like he talked; and I signed up for the high school he signed up for.

Which was why Billy Widdledon changed. He began to hang around Herby Vanderman, he walked like Herby Vanderman; he talked like Herby Vanderman. He mixed me up! I began to walk and talk like Billy Widdledon, who was walking and talking like Herby Vanderman.

And then it dawned on me that Herby Vanderman walked and talked like Joey Haverlin. And Joey Haverlin walked and talked like Corky Sabinson.

So here I am talking and walking like Billy Widdledon’s imitation of Herby Vanderman’s version of Joey Haverlin, trying to walk and talk like Corky Sabinson. And who do you think Corky Sabinson is always walking and talking like? Of all people, Dopey Wellington- that little pest who walks and talks like me!

Copied from A 2nd Helping of Chicken Soup for the Soul.

I’m sure you get the idea of this story. Too often, we adore people senseless, and in the process utterly disregard our own uniqueness. It’s wonderful to be inspired by people; I personally have an ever growing collection of men and women whose lives inspire me to chase my greatness. I have published some of them on this blog. But like I wrote before, “Inspiration is destructive when it graduates to imitation”. This is because, you can NEVER EVER EVER EVER succeed at being someone other than you were created to be.

self-love

The Good Book describes as “unwise” anyone who compares him/herself with another. Don’t live life jealous or envious of others when you can be so busy creating your own beautiful story.

My message to you today is:

1. Be inspired but NEVER let inspiration graduate to imitation.

2. Develop yourself so others can be inspired by your life as well.

3. And very importantly, Ladies learn to love yourself unconditionally and wholeheartedly. A lot of things will fall in place when you do!

Have a self-love filled week!!!! And while you’re at it, ensure you take 1 million selfies!

P.S- If you haven’t filled or completed our MDGs to SDGs survey, please do so here: http://goo.gl/forms/rYmNQFGyQv

Thank you!

Leave a Reply

