Lessons From My Father 2- Your Attitude To Correction Should Be That of Joy

father-hugging-daughter-300x221-e1434946731807

As a child, when mum scolded me for a bad behavior, my response was to curl up, and become sullen. Anytime I was rebuked, I retreated. Sometimes I remember, I would go on silent mode and refuse to talk to mum or anyone till I was pacified. I grew up with this, retreating every time I did a wrong and had to be corrected for it. There were times I cried, and other times I was angry with myself for not knowing better and some other times where I just wished I could turn back the hands of times, and correct my actions so that I don’t get to deal with the feeling of being a failure… Yeah….I have had times like that.

My chat with my Father liberated me. He taught that me that it was okay to ‘not know everything’, that it was okay to make mistakes, it didn’t mean I was a failure, it meant I was human who was and is in a process. Like someone said, Ignorance is not an embarrassment, it is a gift. It exposes you to what you don’t know, and reveals to you areas you need to improve on.

So, what should your response be when you are corrected for your ignorance? Be joyful!!! Just the same way, ignorance is a gift, correction is an even greater gift. If you have people in your life who constantly correct you, then know this- YOU ARE LOVED! That ought to make you joyful!!!

6 For the Lord corrects and disciplines everyone whom He loves, and He punishes, even scourges, every son whom He accepts and welcomes to His heart and cherishes.

7 You must submit to and endure [correction] for discipline; God is dealing with you as with sons. For what son is there whom his father does not [thus] train and correct and discipline?

8 Now if you are exempt from correction and left without discipline in which all [of God’s children] share, then you are illegitimate offspring and not true sons [at all]

9 Moreover, we have had earthly fathers who disciplined us and we yielded [to them] and respected [them for training us]. Shall we not much more cheerfully submit to the Father of spirits and so [truly] live?

10 For [our earthly fathers] disciplined us for only a short period of time and chastised us as seemed proper and good to them; but He disciplines us for our certain good, that we may become sharers in His own holiness.

11 For the time being no discipline brings joy, but seems grievous and painful; but afterwards it yields a peaceable fruit of righteousness to those who have been trained by it [a harvest of fruit which consists in righteousness — in conformity to God’s will in purpose, thought, and action, resulting in right living and right standing with God].

12 So then, brace up and reinvigorate and set right your slackened and weakened and drooping hands and strengthen your feeble and palsied and tottering knees.

(Hebrews 12:6-12, AMP)

Correction is a gift. It is a discipline and a requirement for growth. It may come in different forms- even as a rebuke, but receive it gladly, because it is not meant to destroy but to build you!

2 thoughts on “Lessons From My Father 2- Your Attitude To Correction Should Be That of Joy

  1. Olarinmoye Damilola September 8, 2016 — 6:30 pm

    As a child, I hated to be corrected, even when I was a teenager.
    Along the line I realized it helped me get better.

    The part I had to be deliberate about is the ability to forgive myself when I make mistakes.

    It is definitely not easy but nothing is as beautiful as the peaceable fruit of righteousness correction yields.

    Thank you Onome for always being a blessing

    Like

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close