A Woman’s High Calling

Woman praising with arms raised in the airA dear sister chatted me up this morning, and we started sharing our meditations and our recent thoughts on God’s word (By the way, if you don’t have such friends, it’s time to start rethinking and redefining your meaning of friendship).

This was what I shared….

I was reading a book by Elizabeth George’- A Woman’s High Calling. The whole book was based on Titus 2: 3-5.

the older women likewise, that they be reverent in behavior, not slanderers, not given to much wine, teachers of good things, that they admonish the young women to love their husbands, to love their children, to be discreet, chaste, homemakers, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God may not be blasphemed.

She drew out in the first chapter that a woman’s first calling is a Calling unto Godliness. Then she went on to narrate an experience. I have not stopped meditating on what I learnt from that One Chapter. I learnt that when I live in a constant state/posture of worship to God, people will in time begin to long for what I have, and my life will begin to inspire others to cry out for a relationship with Jesus.

This morning I thought differently of 2 Cor. 2: 15…”God wants to use us to spread the fragrance of the knowledge of Christ in every place.”

My worship and relationship with Jesus can be so beautiful that it can get to a point where I begin to evangelise and point people to Jesus without the use of words.

More than ever, I want to be lost with Jesus, I want to think more of him, I want to learn more of him and more from him. I want my light to shine so bright. I want people to be jealous of what I’ve got such that they begin to pant and want more of Jesus……..

When you genuinely worship God, it reflects in every area of your life. It is evident. The bible said about Jesus’ disciples “Men knew that they had been with Jesus”. Our high calling is a calling unto sincere worship and reverent devotion to God. Will you yield to this call today?

1 thought on “A Woman’s High Calling

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close