Wonder Woman Wednesday- The 3126 Woman

When she speaks she has something worthwhile to say, and she always says it kindly (Prov. 31:26, MSG)

She opens her mouth in skillful and godly Wisdom, and on her tongue is the law of kindness [giving counsel and instruction] (Prov. 31: 26 AMP)

images (45)

I came across this woman some days ago, and I’ve not stopped thinking about her. Actually, there was an incidence before that…I’ll gist you. Last week Wednesday, on my way to church, I was harassed by two guys. They were standing outside a Sports Betting Center which is like 2 minutes away from my hostel. As I was walking by one said, ‘Hello Bae, how far?’ I didn’t respond, I felt like ‘they weren’t worth my reply’ (I am beginning to think that that was wrong thinking). Anyways, I just continued walking away without any reply or even a smile . This really angered one of them, (coupled with the fact that he may actually have lost money at the poll center), and he started saying insultive words…The first thing that came to my mind, was to walk back and give him a piece of my mind, the second was to go back and ask him, ‘Would you like your child to one day display this foolishness you are displaying?’ Long story short, I continued walking away.

When I got into a cab, I started searching my heart for instances Jesus was faced with a situation like this, and what he did. I just kept asking the Holy Spirit for his wisdom on the issue and then the thought came, ‘What if you had said something as little as a Good afternoon with a sincere smile on your face?’ God wasn’t done with me just yet, later that evening, while I was printing out confessions to paste on my wall (more about Confessions later), I stumbled unto the 3126 woman.

“When she speaks she has something worthwhile to say, and she always says it kindly”

The first thing I noted here, is that this woman’s speech was not dependent on her environment, on whether the people were ‘fit to be spoken to or not’, anytime she speaks, she always has something worthwhile to say, she opens her mouth in skillful and godly wisdom- the antidote to foolishness anytime, any day! I repented immediately!!

The 3126 woman always has something worthwhile to say, and she always says it kindly! She doesn’t open her mouth in foolishness or use it to tear others down and destroy their souls. Come to think of it, how can we use the same mouth we employ in praising God to tear down people made in his image and likeness??  

My dear friends, with our tongues we speak both praises and curses. We praise our Lord and Father, and we curse people who were created to be like God, and this isn’t right. Can clean water and dirty water both flow from the same spring?  (James 3:9-12, CEV)

So really what words should flow from our lips?

We should be more deliberate about always speaking the Word of God. God told Joshua, ‘This book of the Law shall not depart out of thy mouth….’ (Joshua 1:8, NKJV)

We should be more deliberate about talking to others about Jesus (what if I had taken 5 minutes to witness about Jesus and invite the two guys to church?) (Matt. 28:19)

We should be more deliberate about speaking to others in a way that we would love to be spoken to (Mark 12:31)

Whatever the situation, let wisdom and kindness govern the words you speak. We don’t want to come across people as jesters, or a blabbers, or ladies with empty words or CEO’s of foolish speaking…hahaha…I’m sure you get the gist.

And one more thing, there is nothing like, ‘The guy or the lady provoked me to speak in such a way’, no one can provoke you to exhibit what you are not. Digest that.

Remember the 3126 woman.

Remember that the 3126 woman can be you.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close