03: Dear Sister, What Are You Doing While You Wait For The Big One?

I was reading Mark’s account of the call of the disciples earlier today, and I couldn’t help but ponder on some questions like ‘why did those men follow Jesus’? What is about what he said? Or was it the way he communicated purpose to them? Really, what was it? I know what my response would be (with a bewildered look on my face) if a random man from nowhere just showed up at my workplace and say ‘Onome, follow me and I will make you….’. After pondering on the questions for a while, my attention was drawn to the previous occupation of the disciples before they met with a higher purpose.

 

The bible records that: ‘As Jesus walked beside the Sea of Galilee, he saw Simon and his brother Andrew casting a net into the lake, for they were fishermen. Come, follow me, Jesus said, and I will send you out to fish for people. At once they left their nets and followed him.(Mark 1: 16-17, NIV).

 

What struck me was the fact that these disciples were about their business when Jesus called them. They weren’t idle. They were at their duty posts. And they were faithful with it. I began to ask myself, ‘How faithful have I been with the assignments God has committed into my hands at this stage of my life’? Many Christians are consumed with the idea of discovering and walking in purpose that they forgot that they whole life is purposed to bring God glory. We hear stories of men who had hours-long visions that opened them up to God’s plan for their lives, and somehow we get deceived into thinking that our own journey with God should be a perfect micmic of theirs. Wrong thinking my friend.

 

I once read in a book ‘More often that not, purpose finds us’. It doesn’t find us when we are idle and complacent. It doesn’t find us when we bury our talents while waiting for the big assignment. It doesn’t find us when we are not efficiently maximizing the little assignments God commits to us. If there is anything I pray about more than anything else, it is for my life’s assignment. But while waiting for God to unfold his plan, what do I do?
1. I continue to grow in love and fellowship with him.
2. I continue to discover, develop and deploy my talents in Kingdom service and for the good of society.
3. I continue to be faithful in being my best on my job, career, education etc.
4. I continue to use my gifts to be a blessing to others.
5. I continue to encourage others on the same journey as I am.

 

Jesus simplified the ‘purpose’ subject with his words ‘Whoever is faithful in little, will be faithful in much’. You want God to trust you with plenty, then let him be able to trust you with a few. And when the big day comes, you will be grateful for the strength and capacity you have built while waiting.
The disciples were faithful fishermen. Jesus met with them. And made them fishers of men.
What will Jesus meet you doing?

 

 

Leave a Reply

