That One Thing We All Need to Learn: Self-Discipline

Sorry Bruce Banner 😊. Your picture just captures my post perfectly!

 

So today, after weeks of internal pulling, I finally started a personal study on Self-discipline. You know how sometimes you cry out desperately to God for a particular thing and then he replies you with an unlikely answer? (I know I’m reading someone’s email right now) Yeah, that was the situation leading up to the study.

While I can’t promise I’m going to share everything I’m going to learn on this topic on the blog, I have decided to share some scriptures on self-discipline I’m standing on, that I may not slid down the path of least resistance. Amen. 😊

Proverbs 16:32, “He who is slow to anger is better than the mighty, and he who rules his spirit than he who takes a city”.

Proverbs 25:28, “Whoever has no rule over his own spirit is like a city broken down, without walls” (This scripture is painful)

1 Corinthians 9:27, “I discipline my body like an athlete training it to do what it should. Otherwise, I fear that after preaching to others I myself might be disqualified”

1 Corinthians 6:12, “Just because something is technically legal doesn’t mean that it’s spiritually appropriate. If I went around doing whatever I thought I could get by with, I’d be a slave to my whims”

Titus 2:11-12, “For the grace of God has appeared that offers salvation to all people. It teaches us to say “No” to ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright and ungodly lives in this present age.

Galatians 5:22-23, “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control. Against such, there is no law”.

2 Timothy 1:7, “For the Spirit of God does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline”.

God is explicit on this matter, and we should take it seriously too. I love the definition of Self- discipline by Elbert Hubbard. He said, “Self- discipline is the ability to do what you should do, when you should do it, whether you feel like it or not”.

Where are you weakest when it comes to self-discipline? Is it in your appetite or sex or sleep or in time-management or in handling money? Don’t make excuses for it! Seek help from God’s word. Read books too. And determine to practice all you’d learn. Lack of self-discipline is a punctured tyre and the only place that leads to is well, Disaster Town.

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close